top of page
  • author

an interview with FM Belfast

January 31, 2017



I talked with FM Belfast’s Lóa Hlín Hjálmtýsdóttir about the band’s new single, a recent collaboration, and politics.


How was the Iceland Airwaves festival? Were there any new acts you found particularly interesting?


Lóa: I was in Finland at a comic convention for the most part of Airwaves last year so I didn't see much except the backstage. I usually try to see something new or some beloved act.


What can you tell me about your newly released single, “You’re So Pretty”?

In a 2011 interview with the Reykjavik Grapevine, you explain that “‘[Lóa] I find it hard to write lyrics because I’m stuck on the idea that they have to be really meaningful, which is weird”.[Árni Rúnar ]“I want them to have no direct meaning, for them to be really open for anyone to interpret.”’

Are you taking your music in a new direction with more direct lyrics? Has your attitude towards writing lyrics changed?


My attitude towards lyrics hasn't changed at all. "You're so Pretty" is written about a character from a short story I wrote. It's about a woman I was sort of spying on but I ended up writing a little bit about myself instead. For me it's about getting older, trying to be independent and a little bit of desperation.

Is there a new album on the way?


Yes. We are trying to finish it as soon as we can. "You're so pretty" is the first single from the new album.


Do you have plans to tour in the United States anytime soon?


We don't have the means to tour in the states even though I would like it very much. The visa is too expensive for us and now it's even harder to get into the country because of the new government. It is such a shame. I love the US and the Americas. I'm sort of an Americanophile.


What have been your favorite cities to perform in? Do you prefer large crowds for shows or more intimate venues?


I usually prefer smaller venues. I really liked playing at Webster Hall Studio for instance but I also like playing big festival shows. It's just a different experience alltogether. At the smaller shows the crowd is more likely to know your band but at festivals people are maybe seeing you for the first time.


It seems that Iceland has a very close-knit music community, are there any artists, from Iceland or otherwise, that you’d really like to collaborate with in the future?


I just had the lovely experience of collaborating with Kött Grá Pje. He's an Icelandic artist who I admire. I would like to do more like this but I don't have anyone in mind yet.


Most of your songs seem to feature English vocals… Was it a premeditated decision to sing in English instead of Icelandic?


We always intended to write in english. We didn't have a big meeting about it or anything like that but most music I listen to is in English so it came naturally like that.


Not sure if you are very political, but if you’d like to comment on the presence of the Icelandic Pirate Party or the 2016 US Election, in relation to Icelanders, please do!


I'm very political as a matter of fact. I'm disappointed, devastated even. We're stuck with the other Panama Paper Boy as a prime minister. They're trying to privatize everything. Meanwhile your president and his men are wreaking havoc. The only hope lies with the people and standing up for what is fair and right. I'm worried about the future but I also have hope. Especially after the huge Women's March.


Have you been to the Icelandic Phallological Museum/ Hið Íslenzka Reðasafn? A lot of Americans seem to have heard of it.


Haha, no. I'm happy to say I've never been. There's something so wrong about amputated penises on display. I can't get my thoughts around it.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

an interview with CYBERN∆ZI

October 8, 2017 In this interview, I had email correspondence with an anonymous electronic musician associated with the Alt Right movement. I originally used parts from this interview for a school pap

bottom of page